Day 1: April PAD 2013 – Goodbye, Dad

Today is the first day of the Poem A Day (PAD) at Writer’s Digest. It prompted for a poem about a new arrival.

My Father passed away, yesterday, making him a new arrival in Heaven. I used him as my inspiration for this poem.

Goodbye, Dad

Oh why
Does it happen
To those you always knew
Would last forever in your life?
You died.

Easter,
Was it today?
No, I didn’t notice.
I was too busy with goodbyes,
For you.

You know,
I loved you so.
I will miss you madly.
The hole you leave cannot be filled
At all.

My Dad,
Your words to me
Will last inside my heart.
Until the day I see you in
The sky.

For now,
You’re looking down,
Without the pains of life,
Smiling while you wait for us in
Heaven.

Oh why
Was it today?
I will miss you madly.
Until the day I see you in
Heaven.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, WritersDigest. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 1: April PAD 2013 – Goodbye, Dad

  1. I loved your poem. My sympathies to you on your dad’s passing. Who knows – my dad and your dad have probably already met. 🙂 Also – welcome to WordPress. I’m going to follow you because I like your type of writing.

  2. ewdupler says:

    Thank you so much, on all accounts. I’m sorry about your dad, too.

    I hope my writing lives up to your expectations and that you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it.

  3. I don’t foresee any problem enjoying your writing. And always remember, write what you like and not what you think someone else wants. 🙂

Leave a Reply

