Day 6: NaPoWriMo 2013 – Goodbye Gray Hair

Today was on the really short list of the most difficult things I’ve done in my life. Today, I buried my Dad. I guess it was fitting that the NaPoWriMo theme was “goodbye”. So I wrote this for my father. I was inspired because my last physical touch was through his wonderful gray hair. I’m a bit drained, mentally, so please excuse the poem and recognize it for the draft that it is.

Goodbye Gray Hair

Just how did all that gray get there?
Slicked back, just the way you like it;
That not a single hair would would dare
To even try to discomfit.

Did gray reside there in your hair
As warning of your clever wit?
So many laughs, and such a flair;
Disarming all, ‘til they submit.

Such color you will always bear,
That gray you’ll take down to the pit.
With this goodbye it is my prayer
You rest in peace as we remit.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Favorites, NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 6: NaPoWriMo 2013 – Goodbye Gray Hair

  1. You are in my thoughts today.

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2013: Day 6, ‘Cat Dog’ | O2B heavenly minded

  3. Pingback: Day 17: NaPoWriMo 2013 – A Reluctant Greeting | Gene's Musings

Leave a Reply

