Review – The Time Machine

British author H. G. Wells' 1895 novel The Tim...

British author H. G. Wells’ 1895 novel The Time Machine is an early example of time travel in modern fiction. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

This is my second journey through the saga of the Eloi and Murlocks. I find it interesting how one’s perspective on a book changes when you insert a couple decades between readings. But one thing that remained the same is that I still found this book to be quite enjoyable.

At this reading, I found myself questioning the judgments of the protagonist, our time traveler. Wells crafts his character as what seems to me to be a geeky scientist that’s so focused on his work that he has little time to see anything else around him. At the minimum, this character is impetuous. Personally, I think he borders (if not crosses into) wanton carelessness. When read in that light, the book makes more sense to me.

I have to admit that I’m a little disappointed that the inter-character relationships weren’t explored more and that he doesn’t write more about Weena. Instead, the author sticks strictly to his time travel narrative as spoken by his scientist/main character. I would have liked for that character to have been better developed, but the story is still a good one.

This is a pretty quick read that can be done in one or two nights. It has elements of science fiction and touches a bit on social commentary. Given that it’s written in the 1800s, I found it pretty insightful. As a contemporary reader, I am glad that it is set so far into the future that there wouldn’t be anything that seemed out of place to me.

The Time Machine is well done and certainly should be considered by those looking for a well written piece of classic science fiction.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

