Day 8: NaPoWriMo 2013 – Super Dad

My first poem today was a silly poem for Mom. So this one is a silly one for Dad. It’s written in the form of Ottava Rima, an Italian form normally intended for epic hero poems. Here is a single stanza in honor of my super Dad.

Super Dad

He wears a uniform of underwear;
Outside, without a shirt, he braves the snow;
He sings off-key and doesn’t really care;
When shouts are heard, for him I am not slow –
His superpower (grounds me, should I dare.)
My Dad, a hero, everyone should know.
When growing up, he made me feel secure,
So thank you, Dad, for all your love so pure.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

