Day 9: NaPoWriMo 2013 – And So Began that August Night

When I think of noir, I think of detective novels. And each and every one, in my mind, start the same way. So I captured that mental image as part of today’s NaPoWriMo prompt.

And So Began that August Night

In walks…
Platinum blonde;
High heels;
Glossy lips;
Tight red dress;
Sultry voice;
A gorgeous dame;
Like you

Looking for…
Fedora hat;
Pistol packing;
5 o’clock shadow;
Rough and tumble;
School of hard knocks;
Two-bit detective;
Like me

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 9: NaPoWriMo 2013 – And So Began that August Night

  1. I really like the theme here, and you’ve incorporated it really well, but I’m not a fan of the ellipsis. For me it creates too much of a pause since it’s associated with speech trailing off.
    Fantastic poem though.

  2. ewdupler says:

    Thanks! I appreciate the comments. I wasn’t so sure about the ellipses, but left them in to break up the description. You’re right, though, they really aren’t needed.

Leave a Reply

