Day 14: NaPoWriMo 2013: Confessions of a Web Slinger

Spiderman

Spiderman (Photo credit: rpeschetz)

rain

Growing up, my favorite hero was Spiderman. I used him as the centerpiece of my poem for today’s NaPoWriMo writing prompt. Since he was always such a conflicted character, I decided to give voice to some of his inner turmoil and complaints.

I always liked this superhero because he’s such an underdog. If you would choose a different superhero, who would it be, and why?

Confessions of a Web Slinger

A superhero? Underrated pains!
Those spandex tights, really hurt where they bind.
Crawling through pigeons – imagine the stains!
Working all night, I’m so tired, I find
Bad guys and cops and relationship strains;
And my uncle still haunts me, invading my mind.
One day I’ll find a way to make him proud,
And Mary Jane will claim my love, aloud.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Favorites, NaPoWriMo, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 14: NaPoWriMo 2013: Confessions of a Web Slinger

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo(# 14): Life Sentence | Thinking aloud….

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo: Day 14 | beccaaudra

  3. Brilliant interpretation of the theme.

  4. Pingback: NaPoWriMo (# 15): Treasures of Childhood… | Thinking aloud….

Leave a Reply

