Day 16: April PAD 2013 – Impossible Victory

iOCAINE

iOCAINE (Photo credit: thebadastronomer)

Impossible Victory

Inconceivable, I simply must say.
These blades? Not fair! For I am not able.
Instead you still might win by wits, this day –
Inconceivable.

Battle with minds, so sit at the table,
And toast me again, I’ll win anyway.
Iocaine powder is not a fable.

How did it get into my flask? No way!
You, a pirate immune to this label,
Powdered both for yourself and me, your prey –
Inconceivable!

The April PAD challenge wanted either a possible poem, or an impossible one. Well, depending on your perspective, I may have given you both! This is a poem based on one of my favorite movie scenes of all time. If you think you know it, guess away in the comments.

Bonus points if you can pick out the poetic form I used for this challenge.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, WritersDigest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

