Day 21: April PAD 2013 – My First Senryu (and others)

april

april (Photo credit: don 53)

My First Senryu

I gave it a try.
Senryu is easy Haiku,
Without all the rules.

Imprisoned

Leather strap released.
Unlocking my best friend’s cage.
He’s wagging his tail.

Food Adds Up

Practical fractions:
Unless that pizza is squared,
Three-eighths of that pie.

A Cold April

I’ve heard it before,
April showers and May flowers.
But what if it snows?

I didn’t know that there was such a thing as a Senryu.  I didn’t do much research on it, other than what was written for today’s challenge.  Basically, it appears to be a Haiku, but without rules (except the syllable count.)Since they come together so quickly, I thought I’d throw out a few.  Admittedly, they’re probably borderline Senryu because they don’t have much to do with the human condition, but they were fun to write.

Do you have a favorite?  Which one?

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, WritersDigest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

