Day 21: NaPoWriMo 2013 – Fortune Cookie Sayings

An unopened fortune cookie

An unopened fortune cookie (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Fortune Cookie Sayings

  • Rule #34: It’s not how fast you run.  It’s who you can outrun.
  • A wise man squeezes toothpaste from the bottom.
  • You will find the extra toilet paper when its needed.
  • You have a secret admirer.  They’re stalking you.
  • I’m watching you.
  • Copy, then pass this message on to 10 friends or you could die.
  • Have you seen my cat?
  • Acme Dry Cleaners: Claim Ticket #13
  • I’m sorry, you don’t have a lucky number.
  • Made in China.
  • Man with long chopsticks is overcompensating.
  • Just what do you really think was in that rice?
  • Nutrition Content: negligible (Try the broccoli, instead)
  • Wise man learns to spel in school.
  • That wasn’t chicken.
  • Trust me, we’ll remember who forgot to tip.
  • Celebrate Year of the Dog!  (It’s not just an ingredient.)
  • Yes, we really all know kung-fu.  Don’t forget to tip your waiter.
rainWhen I was a boy, I lived in China.  Well, Taiwan, to be more precise.  I mostly remember eating noodles – they had little comics in them that I didn’t understand.  It wasn’t until later, when we returned to the U.S., that I recall my first fortune cookies.

After years of my boys teasing about ideas for fortune cookie sayings, I took a stab at this NaPoWriMo prompt to write my own.

Which is your favorite?  Also, did you get the Rule #34 reference?

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 21: NaPoWriMo 2013 – Fortune Cookie Sayings

  1. Pingback: Spring Fortune Cookies (NaPoWriMo#21) | michelledevilliersartandstories

  2. Pingback: Fourteen Fortune Cookie Fortunes ~ For NaPoWriMo Day 21 | A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2013

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2013: Day 21, ‘Your Fortune Foretold’ | O2B heavenly minded

Leave a Reply

