Day 23: NaPoWriMo 2013 – Love Forbidden

Mass-produced colour photolithography on paper...

Love Forbidden

For you, now I must be leaving,
Because you know I don’t belong.
It hurts me, too, but know it’s right
For you. Now I must be leaving.
This love forbidden, can’t take flight.
‘Fore you now I must be leaving,
Because you know I don’t belong.

 

rainRomeo and Juliet by Shakespeare… Jesse’s Girl by Rick Springfield… My Best Friend’s Girl by The Cars… What do they all have in common?Love.  Well, a specific kind.  Our culture is full of references to forbidden love. Today’s NaPoWriMo poem prompt was to write a poem in the form of a Triolet which I used to paint a small window into a “Love Forbidden”.

I like this form, but found it challenging to repeat the same line 3 times, each time with a different meaning.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 23: NaPoWriMo 2013 – Love Forbidden

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2013 – Day 23 | Two Voices, One Song

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo ( # 24): You and Me… | Thinking aloud….

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2013 – Day 25 | Two Voices, One Song

  4. Pingback: NaPoWriMo Day 30: A Txtoem | The Black Tortoise

Leave a Reply

