Day 30: NaPoWriMo 2013 – I Have Hated Time In The City

A high-rise residential apartment building in ...

I Have Hated Time in the City

I have hated time in the city, green forest.
The forced lines of a building,
Traffic and the random cacophony,
That drives me to hell every second,

Constant lights on the high rises,
Shouts of people, stupid and cruel,
And the horrible look of despondence, so rampant,
As they fail to meet my eyes.

I despise and have been so deeply despised.
Oh when my courage burns brightest,
I’ll finally step away from this awful light and noise,
To truly find life, for I was sad to have left you.

rainTurning someone else’s poem into it’s opposite? That sounds like an interesting challenge, so I chose I Have Loved Hours at Sea by Sara Teasdale.
About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 30: NaPoWriMo 2013 – I Have Hated Time In The City

  1. poyye says:

    Good job! And, I couldn’t agree with you more.

Leave a Reply

