Courting Mrs. Seuss

Dr. Seuss Wooden Nickel

Courting Mrs. Seuss
(a.k.a. It Started With a Spoon)

Don’t say to me, buffoon,
You know I’m not a goon,
And never was a loon,
So please, with me, commune.

I’d like to see you swoon,
As you listen to me croon,
While I play a little tune,
On this simple silver spoon.

Your kiss would be a boon,
And wouldn’t be too soon,
This sultry night in June,
Lit only by the moon.

Tomorrow at high noon,
Come meet me by the dune,
Our initials will be hewn,
In wood that they call poon.

This was written for my Goodreads book club for our monthly poetry challenge.  This month’s prompt was “spoons”.  It was inspired by Christa who submitted a fantastic poem, earlier.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Courting Mrs. Seuss

  1. Karin Wiberg says:

    Perfect title. 🙂

Leave a Reply

