Justice

Scale of justice, Enhanced version of an image...

Law of the Jungle

Torn asunder by
animalistic intent;
Natural justice.

One Day

The judgment, begun,
soul heavy upon the scale,
tipping the balance.

And the Ark Closed

The cry says, “unfair”.
This rain falls on all shoulders
‘cept those who believed.

Written for today’s Carpe Diem prompt (Justice), my haiku definitely borders senryu (especially the second). My first poem is a bit raw and animalistic. I was going to throw it out and try again, but there is a certain bold unwanted truth that made me keep it. The remaining poems are a little deeper with some philosophical tendrils that reach out more than I anticipated they would when they rolled off my fingers.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Justice

  1. yarrpirate says:

    Nice style – and meaning,and particularly enjoyed the background that goes with your haiku.

  2. jrbsays says:

    Each separate, yet somehow linked. Very nicely done 🙂

  3. I like them three, Gene, I like the way how you have used ‘justice’ in different ways. That last one however is my favorite. It’s a question I have always asked “Why did Noach not took them all into the Arc?” It will never have a answer I think 🙂

  4. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Tipped scales can go one way or the other…

    Justice

  5. Enjoyed particularly the second one.. how it tips is not easy to predict.

Leave a Reply

