My Universe Defined by a Tableau

English: Detail of Diego Gutiérrez's 1562 map ...

My Universe Defined by a Tableau

Surrounded at home
by beautiful land,
couched in the mountains
of Appalachia.
I was born here and
will find my grave here.

My craft consumes me.
It’s exciting, yet
unpredictable.
But still I will try
to know the future,
like where the wind blows

Uncertainty rules
mysterious thoughts
that rattle inside
the mind of my spouse.
They bring perspective
as she grounds me, here.

My sanity gone,
stolen by children
with innocent smiles,
but I am not fooled.
I love those boys of
devious intent.

Neighbored by loons,
as the one next door.
He truly is odd,
riding four wheelers
to subdue his lawn.
But he’s not so bad.

Under northern stars
my universe turns
revolving around
family and friends.
And I would have it
be no other way.

This is my first Tableau, a form created by Emily Romano in 2008.  I wrote this poem in response to both a prompt from Poetic Bloomings, and Verse First.  It captures part of my own personal universe.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Favorites, Poetic Bloomings, Poetry, Verse First and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Universe Defined by a Tableau

  1. This is so charming! I love the 4th stanza especially it brought a huge smile to my face =)

  2. Our universe is huddled around our loved ones and places that are etched deep in our memories…..nice depiction!!!

  3. alan1704 says:

    Excellent – i especially loved “My sanity gone stolen by children” really captures time and the passing of life.

  4. Susan says:

    Very very cool, a place to see the universe from–as close as at home or next door, as far away as thee wind blows.

  5. Pingback: Tableaux Present Pictures | Two Voices, One Song

  6. Poet Laundry says:

    Sounds like a very satisfying place to be. Enjoy your universe!

  7. I adore the stage you set, the characters you identify and their relationships with the narrator. This is a delight to read.

    http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2013/05/15/liberated/

  8. Rick says:

    You remind us that the universe need not be beyond the gatherings of what we experience and love….

  9. WabiSabi says:

    What an idyllic sounding universe you inhabit in your poem. Lovely poem!(Social) Justice

  10. Your personal universe sounds wonderful to me!

  11. McGuffy Ann says:

    I absolutely love this!

  12. Locomente says:

    Lovely read…
    And I particularly loved this line – “I was born here and
    will find my grave here.”

Leave a Reply

