Hanging

Plums hanging

Emergence

Inevitable
Cocooned by destiny’s will
Metamorphosis

Hanging on to Home

High born castaway
Hoping to survive the fall
Severed from the nest

Looming Harvest

Pendulous bearing –
Ambrosial blooms biding time
Proffers precious fruit

Responding to another excellent Carpe Diem challenge, I’ve written about “The Hanged Man”.  In my case, I took a little liberty with the sentiment and I played with words a little more on this challenge: trying to go for a more exotic feel.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hanging

  1. I love emergence Gene. 🙂

  2. gdalexander says:

    Riveting poem! Thanks for sharing. I have followed this blog and will return to read more, for sure.

    I have a writing blog that I started after self-publishing. Please check it out and share your writing experiences with me!
    http://gdalexander.wordpress.com/
    -G.D.

  3. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    One of life’s most frightening experiences (it seems to me) is to be severed from the nest.

    The Hanged Man

  4. jazzbumpa says:

    three interesting takes
    second is Bran Stark -right?

    Cheers!
    JzB

    • jrbsays says:

      Or John Snow perhaps 🙂

      • ewdupler says:

        Actually I haven’t read that story yet (it’s on my reading list), so it’s neither of those. Hanging on to Home was intended to have some double meanings. Fall was meant to be interpreted either as the season (my season word) which makes the poem about a bird who grew to the point that it needed to leave the nest with a little tough love. Or to possibly be interpreted as a fall in position, which makes the poem about somebody in power being cast out of that position and shunned by those who had taken them in. You could also see it as a fall in height, but I didn’t have anything/anyone in mind for that interpretation.

        Regardless of how I looked at it, I’m really glad it evokes such thought in others and now I’m really looking forward to reading Game of Thrones.

  5. jrbsays says:

    Each one a ripe Plum – bravo 🙂

    • ewdupler says:

      I was really tempted to make “plum” the last word in Looming Harvest. I decided to mix things up with fruit, especially since I LOVE double meanings and fruit had a few more possibilities in that direction.

  6. McGuffy Ann says:

    I truly love your writing.

  7. Great take… love those plums.

Leave a Reply

