Death

Closeup of a human skull.

The Day Came

Salty pearls mingle
Cold rains spring tears from heaven
Dreaded departure

Beauty’s Promise

Tic tock, once again
Flowers fail and life begins
Time disintegrates

Lost in Reflection

Patterns in breezes
Winds stroke fields while killing time
Hypnotic rhythms


This trio are my attempt to meet the Carpe Diem challenge to write about Death.  Sorry, I couldn’t avoid a little depression in this set, but I think I balanced it out.

My first poem is quite personal. When I was ten, my grandfather passed away, though I didn’t really have any type of emotional outburst. I clearly remember Dad asking if I’d cry when he died. I told him that I would, though at the time, I didn’t think I’d be able to.  To my dismay, I lost my Dad this spring. It was a rainy day and salty pearls definitely mixed with the spring rains.  This poem, among others, is for Dad.

Beauty’s Promise holds hope that in death, there is life and things that emerge from it.

Finally, lost in reflection plays with killing time, which I’m apt to do. I don’t get to do that nearly enough, just watching nature and what it does. It really can be mesmerizing.

  • Death (axelchom.wordpress.com)
About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Death

  1. I love all three. Thank you for sharing them. I really enjoyed the third but when I read where they all came from I was immediately moved by the first. It saddens me to hear about you loss. Life is a precious gift isn’t it?

  2. What a wonderful series, my condolances with your loss. Thank you for sharing so much of your self.

  3. McGuffy Ann says:

    Let me first say I am sorry for your personal loss. I missed my Dad most of my life, and will miss him for the rest of my life. Your writing is very poignant, very moving.

  4. tigerbrite says:

    I like your touching post. Death indeed is a dreaded departure for most, yet death is life in fact, we do not remember the beauty of the spiritual realms until we find ourselves back there…

  5. A touching and sad post. Loosing a father is a special thing. To some extent it’s the final step in growing up. Thank you for sharing

  6. hardworkinjudy says:

    I loved your middle one best, but they are all quite nice. I am sorry to hear of both of your losses.

  7. jrbsays says:

    Bravo, a wonderful set once again. Thank you for sharing with us all at Carpe Diem 🙂

    Death

Leave a Reply

