Losing My Lion

English: Geese and gosling in an artificial la...

Losing My Lion 

The Cowardly Lion as pictured in The Wonderful...

How did I lose my lion, is it really on the loose?
Oh will you tell those birdies and their pretty mother goose?

My Leo has a collar that is leather and its red.
The last that I had seen him, I was putting him to bed.

You know he hates the water and he won’t get near the lake.
So keep those birdies by the creek and hide for goodness sake.

Because that mother rules the nest and with our lion’s luck,
She’ll keep him as a little one, as if an ugly duck!

He’ll end up in some nursery rhymes to be the butt of jokes,
While dressed in clothing, pretty pink, and laughed at by the blokes.

Take my loss and learn from me, especially my scion.
Don’t mess with mother or her geese and always leash your lion.

 

Poetry Pantry posted a lovely picture of a mother goose and her goslings as part of their weekly poetry prompt.  I’m a bit worn out from my weekend and recovering from caffeine withdrawal, so my brain migrated to something a little silly. 

I imagined Mother Goose out for a walk who comes upon a stray lion.  Of course, no bad could ever come to dear Mother Goose.  Instead, she makes him one of her own.  While I intended to be completely silly, I think I may have written a caution for all of us to rein in our inner lions, especially around a mother and her children.  And for those of us who dare to brave mother, prepare to be tamed!

Now that you’re privy to my poetic dementia that sometimes involves lions dressed in pink and geese that tame them, enjoy.  And make sure to always leash your lion!

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Poetry Pantry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Losing My Lion

  1. Mary says:

    Gene, how clever. I love it that you wrote a poem about geese the day I posted a picture of mother goose with goslings. I responded to you within Poetry Pantry as well. Somehow I do think that Mother Goose could get that lion into her fold. She would tame him indeed. So good to see you in Poetry Pantry, and hope to see you again!

  2. brian miller says:

    ha. cute tale and yes, i get the moral of it as well…i def think mother goose could tame a lion…and we should at least respect a mom and her children…

  3. This is such a charming and amusing piece!

  4. McGuffy Ann says:

    This is a very entertaining piece! Nice job here!

Leave a Reply

