It’s Just Time

A poem about being late.  It’s no big deal, right?  I’m sure most will understand the play on words.

Elgin pocketwatch

Elgin pocketwatch (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s Just Time

It’s called an era
and an epoch
and plainly called, it’s time.

It’s bendable
and flexible
and really no big deal.

It’s in minutes
and in seconds
and sometimes even years.

It’s excusable
and ignorable
and just fine when you’re behind.

It’s … WAIT!
Oh, my Lord,
she’s late!

This is a “late” poem for the Writer’s Digest Prompt #220. It drives me crazy when I’m not on time, so I thought this would be an easy poem to write. But I really didn’t expect for my mind to jump in the direction I took, taking a bit of a spin with the term. And in this case, being late isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, WritersDigest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Just Time

  1. I like this!
    Well done..
    I dislike when people are late even more so when I am!

Leave a Reply

