Regrets and Last Chances

As a lesson hard learned, when your Dad asks you to go fishing, do it, even if you don’t want to.  It’s not about the fishing.

English: Fisherman at Lake Merced (California,...Regrets and Last Chances

About to retire,
you just wanted to go fishing.
Over and over you asked me to go
but I didn’t have a license.

Opening day around the corner,
trout were stocked and ready to bite.
Over and over you asked me to go
but I was too busy.

And then you felt ill,
but still you thought about me.
Over and over you asked me to go
but it didn’t seem important.

Who would have guessed
as you laid there, fading away?
Over and over I asked you to go,
But I was too late.

I’m sorry Dad,
finally, I have my license.
Over and over I think of you as I go,
but I missed my last chance.

I’m going camping tomorrow and plan to do some fishing. But I’m up late with these thoughts. Hopefully draining them from my mind will help me earn some much needed rest.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

