Healthy Haiku

Today’s “healthy” haiku are for the Haiku Heights writing prompt.  This trio isn’t linked, and one of them is arguably a senryu, though I took a humorous twist with it.

Lions & Lion Cubs March 2008Life in the Shadows

Creeping death, unseen,
ravages the weak and sick –
Mother’s cubs live on.

Eating Healthy

Broccoli sprouting
Green waves of healthy living
Now I want to puke

Living Planet

Lovely Mother Earth –
Infant’s cradle, elder’s grave.
Our lives, intertwined.

Written for Haiku Heights #250.  In my first poem, I added a twist to talk about death as it relates to the health of young lions – the whole circle of life, thing.  Eating Healthy was just a fun one to write, though I don’t really mean it – I love broccoli!  And finally, my last poem was intended to remind us that all of our health is connected by our “lovely Mother Earth.”

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Haiku Heights, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy Haiku

  1. “Now I want to puke” – that may be the line of all lines, untopable! untoppable! Can’t top it! You get the award for the Can’t TOP This Haiku. Thank you for the wonderful laugh of the day.

  2. Alice Keys says:

    I have a kid that’s still in the “no vegetables” stage so the second one is especially apt. I laughed. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

