Seductress

I found an incredible picture by Rich Ocampo on Flikr. The exquisite lighting and seductive pose of his model silently screamed for me to write for it. I hope this poem does it justice.

Fire by Rich Ocampo

Fire by Rich Ocampo

Seductress

Soft lips;
Tender smooth skin;
This camouflaged huntress
Preys upon me, with sensual
Feeling.

Beauty,
Mesmerizing.
Brown eyes, captivating.
Gripping my soul, filling me with
Desire.

Burning
Like flames on skin,
Setting my soul afire.
Emotions consuming with wild
Intent.

Yielding
Every point,
As words softly spoken
echo within as if commands,
Whispered.

I’m lost.
I’ve surrendered.
I never had a chance
My soul was burned in lust upon
Soft lips.


It’s been a while since I’ve written in a cinquain. While I love this format, a single stanza wasn’t quite enough to tell the story I wanted for this photo. So, I ended up writing a crown cinquain to recount the simple story of how men fall prey to beauty.

The poem was inspired in part by the beautiful photography of Rich Ocampo and the wonderful evocative poetry of Wuji.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

