Kikusha-Ni’s ‘in the teabowl’

Reflections in a coffee cup

Reflections in a coffee cup (Photo credit: Gunjan Karun)

Today I did my best to write, in form and spirit, to mirror a another poet’s haiku.  I was going to skip this challenge, but with a good night’s sleep I realized the beauty in the original work and couldn’t resist giving it a try.

The original work, ‘In the Teabowl’ (by Kikusha-Ni):

in the teabowl
this motion of the clouds
of ‘Little Spring’

My work follows in separate haiku. They’re intended to stand alone from one another with each being a new attempt to emulate what I saw or felt when I reflected on Kikusha-Ni’s work.

Upon the Lake

Serene lake mirrors
White clouds floating through water
Misplaced taste of spring

Morning Coffee

Coffee cup windows
Gently introduce daylight
Greeting skies of spring

Touch of New Seasons

Reflecting the clouds
Souls stirred by whispering wind
Touching new seasons



I interpreted the original poem as a quiet and introspective reflection upon the day. To me, clouds represented the fleeting thoughts and emotions that struck the author as they enjoyed the ‘little spring’, a misplaced season of warmth in the midst of winter. In my own haiku, I tried to capture the original meaning in new words. I’m not sure which I like best, but I tend to gravitate toward those where I can read more subtle meaning.

Special thanks go to Carpe Diem for their wonderful prompt that inspired this work.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kikusha-Ni’s ‘in the teabowl’

  1. You did great Gene. I am glad that you did take up the challenge to write haiku inspired on the one by Kikusha-Ni. Really ‘Upon the Lake’ is for sure my favorite, in my opinion that one comes close to the Spirit of Kikusha-Ni.

  2. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Even though I’m not a coffee drinker, I am enthralled with your “coffee cup windows”! Nice job!

    Teabowl

  3. jazzbumpa says:

    Well done, all three.

    Cheers!
    JzB

  4. Maggie Grace says:

    “souls stirred by whispered winds” blew me away…pun intended. All three had lovely woven phrases but the last one really spoke to me.

  5. 4joy says:

    love the image, and the lovely images you painted…

  6. WabiSabi says:

    Aamazing that you were able to write three poems , each with a different feel! Well done!Stirred, Not Shaken

  7. “misplaced taste of spring” is kind of a bitter line, don’t you think? 🙂

    Stirring Sugar Clouds

Leave a Reply

