Midsummer Rain

Warm weather and drizzles are perfect times to dance in the rain. Try it sometime – there’s nothing like a midsummer rain.

Summer Rain

Cascading torrents
Sky roaring as clouds explode
Seasonal fury

Water woven sheets
Wrapping a naked summer
Hiding the bare sun

Dog days suffering
Relieved by midsummer rains
Bringing heat to heel


These three haiku are related only because they each are inspired by the same Samidare (midsummer rain) prompt at Carpe Diem. I’ve enjoyed so many of these rains, sometimes on purpose and sometimes by surprise. I tried to look at a different angle of these storms in each of my haiku. One shows summer fury, another a love affair with the rain, while the third shows relief. What do you see in them?

Edit: titles removed.  A kind poet steered me in a better direction – haiku aren’t titled!  Thanks, Maggie Grace!

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Midsummer Rain

  1. Maggie Grace says:

    I really love the second one. I’m a newbie but I do recall that haiku isn’t titled. We have to title our blog posts but a haiku typically has no title, FWIW.

  2. howanxious says:

    Great imagery! I loved the sound words of the first one; they create a beautiful natural setting. 🙂

  3. jrbsays says:

    I very much enjoyed each of them, but was drawn to your second. Water woven sheets wrapping a naked summer hiding the bare sun is excellent! 🙂

  4. Ese' s Voice says:

    Really nicely penned set of haiku. And I must agree with Maggie and JRB about the second one being the favourite. So alive!

  5. I remember one hot summer I think almost 35 yrs ago. It was such a hot summer and there wasn’t rain for a long time. When it finally started to rain after almost two months my brother and I danced naked in the street to cool down.

  6. 4joyjoanne says:

    each one a sensory delight!

  7. becca givens says:

    My favorite today is your second one. 😀
    BTW — I enjoy dancing in the rain, when I have no where to be!! 😀

  8. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    A little seasonal fury here in the Sonoran Desert would be most welcome; the current temp is 111 degrees Fahrenheit, with not a cloud in the sky!

    Midsummer Rain

  9. Wonderful set.. and dancing naked in the rain could be a bliss.. but nor here… currently raining

  10. Pingback: Rain Reigns « A Shade Of Pen

  11. WabiSabi says:

    Best rain there is!!

  12. Pingback: rain | Artsy Wanderer

Leave a Reply

