Taking the Wheel

Road to Denali - Mountains - AlaskaAs the song goes, “life is a highway.” Sometimes it’s an amazing ride, but other times we have to make hard choices about the roads we travel. No matter what, I think most of us find life better in the driver’s seat.

 

Taking the Wheel

Twisting roads make my stomach retch. Motion takes its toll,
but drumming tires with rhythmic sounds, hums away the woes.
I hate when I can’t drive – you’re so hard upon my soul,
twisting roads.

Drove away from everything, except my car and clothes.
Reddened eyes and moistened cheeks are now the way I roll.
It took so long, why did I stay, heaven only knows.

Needing signs to guide my way, this is no simple stroll –
life behind is gone from me, let’s see just how this goes.
The wheel is mine, I’m driving on, trying to control
twisted roads.

 


Shared with and linked to the Poetry Pantry – this is an awesome place to enjoy some poetry.

This poem was written in the Roundel poetic format. It’s a favorite format of mine. The initial inspiration of the poem came from teaching my son to change oil. But after I started writing, the poem took a life of it’s own, taking the wheel and driving in it’s own direction. What a twisted road!

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Poetry Pantry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking the Wheel

  1. brian miller says:

    you found a real nice rhythm in this gene that works well with that winding road…
    they get me every once in a while too, if i am the passenger…
    never when i drive though…

  2. I love driving.. to just drive away from everything, feel the twisted road and the rhythm of the engine. the poem flows well, and it ends quite optimistic.

  3. Mary says:

    Excellent. Really like your take. Indeed we encounter some twisted roads in life, don’t we? Sometime a person just needs to get away. So glad to see you in Poetry Pantry.

Leave a Reply

