A Day at the Office

Motivated by Poet’s Day, yesterday, I expanded on my previous poem to flesh out a few more verses.

KeyboardA Day at the Office

Hearing a tick and then hear a tock.
Up on the wall, I see the round clock.
The hands move too slow, I wish I could go.
No leaving now; my pay they might dock.

Monitors glow without any hype.
Messages read, with nary a gripe.
No paperwork trail, it’s all in e-mail.
Fingers find keys, as they start to type.

My window frames the clouds in the sky.
An open door, co-workers walk by.
There’s things to be done, I’m not here for fun!
Constant distractions! Focus, I’ll try.

Then the phone rings; my boss on the line.
Watching your work, he called it “so fine.”
I did not believe, he said I could leave.
Full day of pay, I made the day mine!

—-

Again, I chose the Gwawdodyn form and stuck with the theme from Writer’s Digest’s Wednesday prompt. I had a little fun with it, making up a story that I used to generically describe my office.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, WritersDigest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

