Turkey! In the Zone

Between 33 and 333 words, and using the third definition of the word, “turkey”, my mission was to write a poem.


TURKEY

081008_Lucky_Strike_Bowling_Pallisades 01

1: a large North American gallinaceous bird (Meleagris gallopavo) that is domesticated in most parts of the world
2: failure, flop; especially : a theatrical production that has failed
3: three successive strikes in bowling
4: a stupid, foolish, or inept person


Turkey!  In the Zone

Lining up to eye the chute, holding the ball in both my hands.
Everyone watched, while I held it high. The crowd began to mute.
It went out true. Then I prepared, after seeing how it lands,
lining up to eye the chute.

The second toss was about the same: a strike and then a hoot.
A roaring crowd so loudly whistled, sweat poured right through my glands.
Only one more, I knew I would need, I hoped it would bear fruit.

Another throw, another strike, I yelled turkey to the stands!
One fellow yelled back, “a strikeout, dude,” for he was more astute.
Ball in glove and batter up. I watched, as catcher gave commands,
lining up to eye the chute.

—-

Did I have you fooled about the game? I hope so as I thought that the definition would really have you leaning in the direction of bowling. Hopefully the joke worked as it’s somewhat dependent on some knowledge of American sports.  Otherwise, you might think me a turkey (definition #4).

This poem was written in one of my favorite formats, the Roundel.

This was a fun challenge from the folks at Trifecta. Check them out and give one of their challenges a try.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Trifecta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Turkey! In the Zone

  1. I am not usually fond of poems, but I liked this.

  2. Very clever! I was fooled.

    One little note: I think you meant “crowd” instead of “crown” in the second line.

  3. Christine says:

    You had me fooled, for sure! I really like the repetition of the line “lining up to eye the chute.” It flows very nicely.

  4. Draug419 says:

    This was fun. I like the little twist.

  5. Pingback: I couldn’t score a turkey because stress over turkey :TRIFECTA#92 | Liquid Poet

  6. Sounds like you had fun writing this. Thanks for linking up!!

  7. KymmInBarcelona says:

    I too liked the repetition. The rhythm (intentionally?) lead me to Casey : )

Leave a Reply

