In Twenty Years

Boy Silhouette
With the anniversary of the “I Have a Dream” speech today, I embarked on a challenge to write a poem with some vision.

Given my son’s recent birthday, my thoughts took me to looking forward twenty years.


I see your face in twenty years, but now you’re just a boy to me.
While seventeen and growing tall, there’s more to live and learn, you see.
More school and tasks that you must do and minding what your teachers say.
And then, perhaps, it’s in your cards: a lawyer, chef, or star, one day.
But always know, and always try, to be the man you’re meant to be.

Within your heart, it’s kindled bright, I find a just and fair decree
to see what’s right and do what’s good. Continue, please, is what I plea.
Then go find a job that makes you smile and feels less like work than play.
I see your face in twenty years.

When I no longer weigh you down and you are flying strong and free.
I will take to heart the time that we shared and look to it with glee.
For as you grow and make your life, I will be turning old and gray.
But even now I see so well, as if upon a great marquee,
I see your face in twenty years.

—-


Written for Jon and as a response to the Poetic Asides challenge at Writer’s Digest. I chose the form of a traditional rondeau, mainly because I like the rhyme and meter it brings when I do it right.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, WritersDigest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Twenty Years

  1. Ria Robinson says:

    Your words are very touching and most definitely inspiring. Looking forward to reading more. =)

Leave a Reply

