Sweet Obsession

I started writing for a challenge about obsessions that I found at Verse First.  I’m not going to submit it as my final poem as I deviated a bit from their intention.  But I enjoyed writing this one.


Thats me in her eyeButterflies swirl, from just a thought,
I can’t refute the spell I’m in.
Obsessive joy is what I ought
to resist, as a mortal sin.

My will is weak, my needs are strong
for this desire will only wax.
I’ve set my mind, it can’t be wrong
I must have this joyful climax.

A kiss as sweet as sugarcane,
silky smooth as a lover’s thigh,
brings tears of joy, as summer rain.
Oh chocolate! I can’t deny.



I liked the pace this poem keeps with it’s alternate rhyming, and I really enjoyed the twist at the end. The challenge I mentioned at the top was at Verse First. I’m thinking that my third stanza is a keeper if I decided to do that challenge. What do you think?

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Verse First and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet Obsession

  1. Pingback: Unleashed Desires | Gene's Musings

Leave a Reply

