Unleashed Desires

Some of life’s greatest treasures can be found in the most simple things. Revealing some of my secret obsessions, I found that some of them are simple pleasures that I just can’t get enough of.


Fall Colors

Softly on skin, a gentle stroke
a teasing touch, just as I like.
Longing, aching, wanting it much:
Feel the breeze on a lovely hike.

Caressing lips as feet move on;
they need that kiss, a sweet surprise.
And for that taste, I’ll hike till dawn,
oh chocolate, you are my demise!

I’ll stop to rest so eyes partake
of lovely lines – enticing stares;
Inspiring dreams while wide awake –
in books I love to cast my cares.



This was written as a response to the Verse First prompt. Writing about three obsessions in three stanzas took a little work to wrap things up into a short, sweet, concise poem. It was even more fun, writing about those obsessions as if they were intimate lovers. Drop me a comment and let me know which was your favorite.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Audio, Poetry, Verse First and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Unleashed Desires

  1. WabiSabi says:

    You love the same things I love!

  2. Books and nature – one cannot go wrong……..

  3. Jeep Walters says:

    I will not look past the chocolate. My jones made my list, but not my poem. Well done, Gene!

  4. What a terrific poem. I cannot write whimsical very well, so I truly respect those who can. This is indeed your forte’. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Chocolate, a hike & reading,,,,very well done!

  6. Kim Nelson says:

    Because you were so careful with word choice and kept each stanza trim and true, this piece sings off the page and carries itself powerfully. No extras, no carrying-on; just strong, clear voice.

Leave a Reply

