Grace at Court

Challenge: From 33 to 333 words, write about the 3rd definition of the word

GRACE (noun)

1.
a : unmerited divine assistance given humans for their regeneration or sanctification
b : a virtue coming from God
c : a state of sanctification enjoyed through divine grace

2.
a : approval, favor
b archaic : mercy, pardon
c : a special favor : privilege
d : disposition to or an act or instance of kindness, courtesy, or clemency
e : a temporary exemption : reprieve

3.
a : a charming or attractive trait or characteristic
b : a pleasing appearance or effect : charm
c : ease and suppleness of movement or bearing

– See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.B2F5Dy4c.dpuf

Here is my take…


Grace at Court

Brilliant,
that sparkling crown,
worn by wisest of men.
To him, I greet with good evening,
My Grace.

My King,
the dancing lass
of whom you asked last eve.
She has such personality
and grace.

Summoned
to your presence.
Such a fortunate one,
just as to any your presence
might grace.

My task,
the fairest found,
is now complete good king.
Now time to leave, but only by
your grace?

Lovely,
friendly lady
will hold her own, indeed.
But you must know the name she’s called:
its Grace.



I couldn’t resist playing with this challenge. First, I decided to pick a writing form and stick with it. In this case, I chose to use the American Cinquain. With 5 stanzas, it became a Crown Cinquain. To make things more exciting, I wanted to end every stanza with the word, “grace”. And to top it off, I wondered how many different definitions of the same word I could crowd into such a short poem.

The result? Well, you tell me. I had fun writing this one, so that’s one in it’s favor. Head over to Trifecta’s challenge blog if you’d like to check out some really great responses to the challenge.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Audio, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grace at Court

  1. Pingback: Grace On Four Feet | emilykarn

Leave a Reply

