Cut-out Lanterns (Tooroo)

I’m jealous of the Asian artwork that I’ve seen through the years. In fact, I find paper lanterns to be particularly beautiful, so I was delighted to discover that word as a kigo for my next haiku:

paper lantern

paper pretender
beacon in the evening sky
waits for harvest moon

ushering autumn
witnessing day’s surrender
warms hearts as air cools

flames dancing within
ancestral offerings glow
carved paper lanterns

These aren’t my strongest haiku, but I like the feelings they evoke when I think about them. Please check out the Carpe Diem post where I learned about cut-out lanterns. You’ll find wonderful information and might be tempted to write a few haiku, yourself.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Carpe Diem, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cut-out Lanterns (Tooroo)

  1. 4joy says:

    after reading your profile, your set has extra meaning…

  2. Maggie Grace says:

    I like all but am partial to the third. Lovely.

  3. “paper pretender” is a lovely phrase

    Spilling Lantern Light

  4. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Here in the desert, I am still waiting for the air to cool so that my heart can be warmed by something other than the relentless heat!

    Lantern in the Sky

  5. The paper art of the Asians and in particular the Japanese is for sure wonderful and I am happy that it inspired you to write your nice series of haiku.

  6. Gene I think it was a very warm set of haiku

  7. Pingback: Autumn Chill ~ for Carpe Diem Early Autumn Kigo #290, Tooroo (lantern) – Haiga | A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2013

Leave a Reply

