Shattered Rainbows

Two Rainbows at Dusk in Denmark.

I followed dreams
along a gleaming ribbon:
beautiful hues guided me
with hope for endless love.

But the end revealed
a cold, coal black lump,
synchronously beating,
with your stoic pulse.

Pierced by icy words,
pride abandoned me.
My tongue held fast
as my life walked away.

A shattered rainbow
assaulted my soul,
with agonizing torture,
shredding my heart.

—-


I originally wrote this in prose, but liked it better in free verse. It’s a response to a writing prompt at Trifecta.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Audio, Poetry, Trifecta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shattered Rainbows

  1. Draug419 says:

    This is lovely work.

  2. Word choice here is wonderful for the imagery and emotions you evoke.
    Thanks for linking up, Gene!

  3. KymmInBarcelona says:

    with your stoic pulse… *shiver*

  4. atrm61 says:

    So much pain in this piece-rich imagery!

Leave a Reply

