And So This Wisdom

Photo by A. Omer Karamollaoglu.

And so this wisdom, takes in years,
our youth, our follies, our bad designs,
and pays us with regretful tears.
It’s hard learned lessons guide our minds
when we have reached our grayest days,
a just reward of foolish ways.
But as life fades, I’ve one request,
I pray my soul finds peaceful rest.



I found a poetry book at a second hand bookstore, yesterday. Among it’s treasures was Sir Walter Raleigh’s “Even Such is Time“. I thought it would be fun to emulate that work in form and style. I came up with this poem which I hope is a fraction as good as the original.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Audio, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

