Not a Morning Person

Artist credit: Dan Duford
http://www.poisonedplayground.com

A warning, true,
that you ignored
brings much ado
and your reward.

This time it’s bad,
you woke the dead!
A curse, my lad,
is on your head:

Go make me some coffee!

—-


Challenge: Give 33 words to follow the illustration.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Audio, Favorites, Trifecta. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not a Morning Person

  1. Suzanne says:

    Love it! Well written and so fun!

  2. Draug419 says:

    This is great!

  3. jannatwrites says:

    The coffee sounds about like my husband in the morning!

  4. Awesome to hear your spoken words on Soundcloud! I always love when people use technology to push the envelop a little, as it were. Kudos to you for being innovative and inspiring. I should be doing this, too. Hopefully, I will because i have a soundcloud account, too. Sometimes, we just need someone to bitch slap us on the head for us to see what we should have been doing all along. So, I consider myself so slapped! πŸ™‚

    • ewdupler says:

      Thank you! I was wondering if anyone noticed those audio clips. Definitely record your own, too. I liked the idea of being able to hear how an author envisioned their own work. Plus, it’s fun.

      • Oh my gosh, why is it that I just noticed that? That’s awesome. It feels so different to hear you read it. You do a much better job than I did. πŸ™‚ Thanks for linking up. Mmmmm. Coffee.

  5. Neetika says:

    Haha! This was simply fabulous Gene! What a fun little poem… Love what you did with the prompt there πŸ™‚

  6. shannoncity says:

    Wonderful! And sounds familiar..

  7. This is fantastic! Such a fun, clever take on the prompt. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

