If You Think About Me

If you think about me, son,
don’t forget to smile.
Forever is my love for you,
it is the longest while.

You know my choice would be to stay
If only that I could.
It’s cruel how life can have a way
so different than we would.

Forgive my anger when I failed
to help you see your track.
My greatest wish was that you sailed
through life without a lack.

You’ll be the man I couldn’t be,
you’re greater than you think.
I always wanted you to see,
you’ve greatness on the brink.

When you recall, don’t shed a tear
of sadness from your eye.
We’ll meet again, so don’t you fear,
you know I would not lie.

—-

A lunchtime poem for the “If you _blank_” prompt from Poetic Asides at Writer’s Digest. Written for my boys.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Audio, Poetry, WritersDigest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If You Think About Me

  1. what a beautiful message from father to son Gene

Leave a Reply

