Family Portrait

Booming voice
Short black hair
A ready smile
Blue-eyed stare
Family man
Was always there
Stern as needed
But he was fair

Dedicated
Dad’s sweetheart
Gentle woman
Gave life a start
Taught me well
She’s wicked smart
My first love
Golden heart

One little man
Was quite enough
We always played
Though rather rough
Grew up well
No cream puff
We’re bonded tight
By brother stuff

Then love seized me
To my surprise
Now my heart
Finds newer highs
Staring deeply
Into brown eyes
My life is full
For she’s my prize

napo2016button1

Day 2: A Family Portrait.  I wrote about Dad, Mom and my brother.  They’re my first family with whom I spent my formative years.  The rest of the poem is for My Treasure with whom I’ll spend the rest of my years.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Family Portrait

  1. Kiana Donae says:

    This is beautiful. I love the sentiment here and the meter. Nice!! #LoveandInk

  2. Sharon says:

    Wow, wow, wow. Love this! I can tell your fiancee is a well loved woman.

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 2 – “Some Of Us Die Heroes” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

