A Fan Letter Fit for a King

Thank you, sir –

For The Shining moments in my mind.
Without your words, I’d be in Misery,
as if in a Dead Zone.
This talent of yours, It flames my reading passion,
As if it was a Firestarter of mental Revival.
It gives me Insomnia at Four Past Midnight.
My friends, Carrie and Christine,
Have taken The Stand as have I.
We’d walk a barefoot Green Mile for more.
Ah, to hide in a Dark Tower
Or Under the Dome with your books,
We’d face a Gunslinger in a Pet Sematary.
So for me and your other Needful Things,
Please keep On Writing!

napo2016button1

Day 3 of NaNoWriPo leads me to a poem in the form of a fan letter.  You can probably guess to whom I’ve written.  As I researched the letter, I was overwhelmed by the sheer number of works he has penned.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Favorites, NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Fan Letter Fit for a King

  1. syd7t5 says:

    This is exactly what I was gonna do! 😀 I’m a massive Stephen King fan! Now I’m gonna have to come up with something else! 😀

  2. Kiana Donae says:

    To the King of books. Lol. I love this and how you used his book titles too!! #LoveandInk

  3. Bryan Ens says:

    Although I’m not a Stephen King fan myself, I still say that this was brilliantly done!

  4. Leonas Lines says:

    Don’t really like Stephen King, but I really like the creativity of your poem! Well done!

  5. moonskittles says:

    Excellent choice, and good for Insomnia 😀

  6. rosemawrites says:

    Wow! I am speechless! You are a talent, and this one is really fit for the KING! 🙂

    @rosemawrites from
    A Reading Writer

  7. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 3 – “All You Need Is Duran Duran” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

