Sweet Treasure

I stored the stash right next to me,
My cornucopia.
Those Snickers Bars would lure them in,
To share a moment of the day.
Purely business – truly was.
But one day she walked in.
Took the candy from my hand,
Then raced my heart and mind.
Daily we would share a bite.
And then it had to change.
I took her hand and can’t let go,
For my delight is in her heart.
Forget the chocolate in the jar.

napo2016button1

Day 6 of NaPoWriMo brings me to a food poem.  I couldn’t resist a dual meaning to the title as I start with my favorite snack.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet Treasure

  1. jademwong says:

    Love the dual meaning. Sweet treasure indeed 😉

  2. rosemawrites says:

    AWWWWW! Dessert and love is a perfect pair, though i will never ever be able to choose either of them! 😀

    @rosemawrites from
    A Reading Writer

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 6 – “Nobody Dances Sober For Long” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

