Ancient Sentinel

shishkin_oaks_old_peterhof_1891

Limbs stretching outward
Girded in furrowed armor
Ancient sentinel

I can’t resist a good haiku and my friend Chèvrefeuille at Carpe Diem always has incredible prompts and teachings.  It’s been too long since I’ve been a regular visitor of his blog.

Today’s theme is a Haiku Writing Technique (HWT) in which we ‘find the divine in the common’.  I attempted to emulate the writing style in my haiku, above.  Visit the Carpe Diem Tokubetsudesu #75 prompt to learn more about this form.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ancient Sentinel

  1. Great subject matter and evocative imagery

  2. Awesome response Gene. I had some difficulties to find the divine in the common, but that’s more my problem (because English isn’t my maiden language). After reading and re-reading this haiku I finally found the deeper meaning, maybe more based in what I see on the image. Two old Oaks, spiritual symbol for secret doors and wisdom.

Leave a Reply

