Coffee Couple

I See
Something Special
Before me This morning
In a green cup The black liquid
Aroma wafting Drawing me nearer
Opening eyes Breaking slumber
Realize Wasn’t mine
Empty Lost chance
You! Gone!

napo2016button1

Day 15 of NaPoWriMo – Halfway! ย And being halfway, the theme today is doubles. ย I chose to wrote a double ninette. ย The doubling is my idea while the ninette is a pretty standard form. ย I wrote them to be able to stand alone, but hopefully they’re double-good together!

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coffee Couple

  1. Haha this is awesome! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Also, did you intend for the format to kind of build the anticipation down the poem? ๐Ÿ™‚ Because that was very different!

    • ewdupler says:

      Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I intended to build up as it progressed since that seems to be a natural part of the ninette’s form. I had more syllables to work with to elaborate on the story. But when I got half way and had to reduce the syllable count, I was stuck. That’s when I decided that a twist at the end would be fun, especially since it paralleled real life as I was writing.

      I woke up early and staggered to the office to write where my SO was sitting beside me. She was drinking wonderfully smelling coffee out of a green cup while I pondered today’s prompt. By the end of my writing, she polished off the coffee just as I finished the poem!

      • Hahaha that’s quite literal then, your poem! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ if you were stuck for syllables it doesn’t show at all- the progression is very smooth, lol. And so silently melodramatic too at the end- oh dear! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  2. Vin says:

    Wow, I have never seen anything like this before..
    Love it! The ending was quite unexpected.

  3. whimsygizmo says:

    Love this! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

