Angel Take Heart

Cherub walking near mere men,
Shining light – divine, intent.
Some have tried to claim, girlfriend
Of this one who’s heaven-sent.

“Be myself” is what I tried
Then I knew I caught her eye.
Eternal hope that I’ll abide
With glory’s finest, ‘til I die.

Brought home to the family,
Who smile but take my measure.
With standards high, will they deny
For me to have my treasure?

Heaven’s keeper gave a sign
“Give your heart,” then she’ll be mine.

napo2016button1

Day 23 of NaPoWriMo celebrates Shakespeare by writing a sonnet.  I didn’t quite follow the iambic pentameter format, but I kept the line count and rhyme scheme.

At first I was dreading the poem because I find sonnets particularly time consuming, but reflecting on my weekend made this an easy one.  I spent the weekend with an angel and her family, which made everything fall into place.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Angel Take Heart

Leave a Reply

