Fires Going Down

Sound the alarm and let it ring
Then get me some milk to help with the zing.
Extinguish the fire that burns on my tongue.
Hurry before it gets in my lung.
Oh why did i eat, something so hot.
I really do hope, my gut doesn’t rot.
One hot wing down, eleven to go.
Let’s reconsider, I think I’ll say no.
Now in my mouth, there may be a burn.
Tomorrow another part, takes its turn.
So next time I order that kind of food,
Please look in my eye and then say, dude:
GET ICE CREAM INSTEAD

napo2016button1

Day 22 of NaPoWriMo recycles the first line of a previous poem and turns it into something new.  I chose a line from my poem that offers instruction on how to wake me up.  This time, I went in the direction of hot wings, which I simply love to eat.

Like the last one, I wrote in a form that reminds me of those from Dr. Seuss.  I find that to be a fun form to write and hopefully the rhyme and meter makes it fun to read as well.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fires Going Down

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    You had me at Seuss. 😉 Love it.

  2. Oloriel says:

    Oh, let us trade, my icecream for some good, hot wings!
    Loved the poem!

  3. mbquilts says:

    That’s great fun!

Leave a Reply

