Outfield Terror at Twelve

I remember the smell of a newly oiled leather glove and its awkward fit on my left hand
I remember an eternal sea of grass where I was surrounded by infinite no see-ums
I remember playing the outfield because the coach had to put me somewhere
I remember watching the swing, hearing the crack and the ball soaring frightfully high
I remember my terror, watching the ball spin forward as it fell straight toward me
I remember tucking the heel of my hand against my belly and my awkward catch
I remember my teammates being amazed as much as I at my very first catch
I remember the runner on third smiling as he scored because I forgot to throw the ball
I remember my embarrassment at my late throw hardly making it into the infield
I remember winning that game, but for the wrong team
I remember how much I prefer football

napo2016button1

Day 29 of NaPoWriMo is an “I remember” poem that should include details of an event from my past.  In my case, I recall details of a little league trauma that occurred to me over a span of about 15 seconds.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Outfield Terror at Twelve

  1. It seems we both went the same way with this prompt, pulling up memories of horrible attempts at sports from childhood. Your lines are really strong in this, it reads fantastically and the imagery is painted so clearly.

Leave a Reply

