Terror

I’ll be the gunner beside you
walking in the night.

It’s a thing, so beautiful from the start.
Taught to walk with sincerity. But a great terror.

To you, a beautiful terror to do your will.
Like my brothers, the dutiful men.

Like my brothers, a beautiful gunner.
Faithful to fulfill our alliance, fully.

You have me as a brother.
As partner in this life.

And where you go, perhaps I’ll die, but you’ll live your story. I’ll try to follow.

This lion of truth, to the end will be at your hand.
It’s me, traveling alongside. Your gunner.

napo2016button1

Day 30 of NaPoWriMo – I made it to the last day!!

Today had a tough theme.  I took a foreign poem and translated it.  Well, I pretended to translate it.  Basically, I looked at the words and tried to invent meaning from the way it looked.  In my case, I took an Irish poem called Treona by Colm Breathnach.  HERE IS THE LINK TO THE ORIGINAL with a translation, in case you want to compare.

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

