NaPoWriMo Day 5: The Natural World

Natural Born Killers

The Sun goes down
They go to work
And flourish in the dark.

Natural born killers
Thirsting for their prey.
They stalk me in my sleep.

I’m not so paranoid –
I’m frequently attacked,
Though often at my feet.

Silent creeping, invisibility.
Instinct kicks in
And then they pounce.

The pain is sharp,
“This is insane!”
I shriek while waking up.

But wounds will heal
From razor claws.
At least they do for me.

And then I realize
This was practice
‘Til nature truly calls.

Another night
They’ll find their quarry.
A mouse, naturally.


I get today’s inspiration from nature colliding directly with my feet!

Last but not least, here is our prompt for Day Five (as always, the prompt is optional). In honor of Mary Oliver’s work, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that is based in the natural world: it could be about a particular plant, animal, or a particular landscape. But it should be about a slice of the natural world that you have personally experienced and optimally, one that you have experienced often. Try to incorporate specific details while also stating why you find the chosen place or plant/animal meaningful.

Day 5 Challenge

About ewdupler

Gene is an avid outdoorsman, loves reading and is known to put pen to paper (well, he types) as an amateur poet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

